Honor Credit Union Announces Winners of 13th Annual Teacher Awards

BERRIEN SPRINGS, MICHIGAN – NOVEMBER 22, 2022 – Honor Credit Union is thrilled to announce the winners of its 13th Annual Teacher Awards. With each year that passes, the Annual Teacher Awards
continue to grow, and 2022 was no exception with the addition of two new communities in the Grand
Rapids Region (Allendale and Jenison). In turn, Honor increased its total number of teachers awarded
from 70 winners to 86 winners and brought in nearly 1,000 entries from educators across its 28-member
center communities.

From the surplus of entries received, Honor included an additional 35 Honorable Mentions, totaling
$20,700, awarded to 121 educators across Michigan.

Educators submitted a short essay explaining how they would use the money to better their students'
education. After a blind selection process, Honor team members chose 86 winners who received a $200
Amazon digital gift card to use in their classroom or school and a $100 Amazon digital gift card to those
awarded Honorable Mention. The 13th Annual Teacher Award winners are:
First Place Winners:
Allegan Public Schools – Abby Waynick
Allegan Public Schools – Becky Calvert
Bangor Public Schools – Karen Shafer
Battle Creek Public Schools – Rhonda Turner
Battle Creek Public Schools – Tammy Westbrook
Benton Harbor Area Schools - Melody Cardenas
Berrien RESA - Jenna Hawkins
Berrien Springs Public Schools – Carrie VanDenburgh
Berrien Springs Public Schools – Sarah Jackemeyer
Berrien Springs Public Schools – Shelly Archer
Brandywine Community Schools - David Staggs
Brandywine Community Schools - Jenni Button
Bridgman High Schools - Andrea Countess
Bridgman Public Schools - Jackie Harding
Bridgman Public Schools - Kelly Hahaj
Bridgman, Immanuel Lutheran Preschool - Angela Cullison
Buchanan Community Schools – Alexander Ehlert
Buchanan Community Schools - Kelly Smith
Caledonia Community Schools – Alissa Chase
Calhoun ISD - Andrea Nuelken
Cassopolis Public Schools – Amanda Solloway
Cassopolis Public Schools – Serena Sawyer
Coldwater Community Schools – Joseph Closson
Comstock Public Schools – Natalie Hosbein
Covert Public Schools – Kelsey Vollrath
Decatur Public Schools – Jennifer Adduci
Delton Kellogg – Heather Tack
Dowagiac Schools - Denise Stockwell
Eau Claire Public Schools – Kristen Roe
Edwardsburg Public Schools - Kaylan Wiemuth
Glenn Public School – Jenna Marr
Grand Rapids Public Schools - Candy Vela
Grand Rapids Public Schools - Lisa Barnes
Grand Rapids Public Schools - Selin Turan
Gull Lake Community Schools – Nicole Miller
Gull Lake Community Schools – Patrick English
Gwinn Area Community Schools – Amanda Hornback
Gwinn Area Community Schools – Olivia Johnson
Hartford Public Schools – Ashley Williams
Hartford Public Schools – Jane Gonzalez
Hartford Public Schools – Kelseyann Wright
Kalamazoo Public Schools – Dawn Kahler
Kalamazoo Public Schools – Heather Ballines-Barajas
Kalamazoo Public Schools – Itzel Gomez-Avalos
Kenowa Hills Public Schools - Bailey Evans
Kentwood Public Schools - Diana McDiarmid
Lake Michigan College - JT Neuffer
Lakeshore Public Schools - Jennifer Engleman
Lakeshore Public Schools - Nancy Anderson
Lakeshore Public Schools - Suzie Onken
Lakeview Battle Creek – Alexa Robinson
Lakeview Battle Creek – Jessica Day
Lowell Area Schools - Katelyn Elizabeth Pulver
Marshall Public Schools – Megan Walters
Marquette Area Public Schools – Kelsey Wales
Marquette Area Public Schools – Steffani Dobson
Mason County Central Schools – Penny Fort
Montcalm Area Intermediate School District- Brittany Danner
Negaunee Public Schools - Courtney Neveu
Negaunee Public Schools - Jodi Johnson
Negaunee Public Schools - Lacey O’Donnell
Negaunee Public Schools - Michelle Lammi
Niles Community Schools – Emily Grontkowski
North Star Academy – Sarah Vickstrom
Pansophia Academy – Cierra Becker
Patrick Hamilton Elementary School - Elizabeth Layman
Paw Paw Public Schools - Amy Oetjens
Paw Paw Public Schools - Heather Vandermolen
Paw Paw Public Schools – Maria Reo
Portage Public Schools – Kara Mounce
Reading Community Schools – Stacey Kies
River Valley School District – Jeri Essig
St. Charles Borromeo – Brenda Mescher
South Haven Public Schools – Brock Thumm
St. Joseph Catholic, Battle Creek – John Wendland
St. Joseph Public Schools – Marilyn Jones
St. Philip Catholic Central High School – Michelle Fuller
Superior Central Schools – Tamryn King
Telamon - Monica Marquez
Trinity Lutheran School – Deborah Boughner
Vicksburg Community Schools – Julie Hughes
Vicksburg Community Schools – Melissa Collins
Watervliet Public Schools – Alaina Bongiorno
Watervliet Public Schools – David Kindt
Wayland Union Schools - Becky Hyma
Wayland - St. Therese Catholic School – Kate Lund

Honorable Mentions:
Alamo Elementary School – Sheryl Cramer
Allegan Public Schools – Hailey Baker
Bangor Public Schools – Cris McGuire
Benton Harbor Area Schools - Elizabeth Austin
Bloomingdale Elementary – Mariann Dowd
Brandywine Community Schools – Megan Kohler
Bridgman Public Schools - Kirsten Southwood
Buchanan Community Schools – Lauren Hendrick
Comstock Public Schools – Becky Raines
Conklin Migrant Headstart -Tiffany Kiiskila
Decatur Public Schools - Jessica Fegan
Dowagiac Union Schools – Laura Frye
Dowagiac Union Schools – Susan Grear
Eau Claire Public Schools – Wendy Hart
Grace Christian School – Leslie Colford
Grace Lutheran School - Denise Fletcher
Grand Rapids Public Schools - Juanita Mathis
Grand Rapids Public Schools - Karl Johnson
Gull Lake Community Schools – Kristine Hop
Hartford Public Schools – Kim Fearnow
Jenison Public Schools - Monica Perez
Lakeshore Public Schools - Jill Rezanka
Lakeshore Public Schools - Tessa Lee
Marshall Public Schools – Samantha McClusky
Michigan Lutheran High School - Heidi Plocher
Negaunee Public Schools - Krista Squiers
Niles Community Schools – Lynette Wideman
Republic-Michigamme – Kevin Luokkala
River Valley School District - Michelle Sykora
Pansophia Academy – Jamie Barrand
Paw Paw Public Schools - Bethany Stanton
Pennfield Schools – Erin Mosher
South Haven Public Schools – Mary Phillips
St. Joseph Public Schools – Morgan Altergott
Union City Community Schools – Laura Bandlow

Honor Credit Union is a non-profit, full-service financial institution serving over 100,000 members in 28
member center communities throughout western and northern Michigan.

Providing solutions for financial success and giving back to the communities we serve remain the driving
forces behind Honor Credit Union. For more information, call 800.442.2800, or visit